Chase Golf Club Logo

The Chase Golf Club

Club News

The Chase Cup results.

  • The Chase Cup took place over our home course at Seafield and a field of 27 entrants battled the elements and the course with patches of penal rough in places which heavily punished any wayward shots. Only 7 players scored par or better with the best gross score of 70 (2 over par) fired by former 4 time Club Champion, Alan Smeeton. Four bogeys in the round were cancelled by birdies at 8/12/14/18 but an uncharacteristic double bogey at hole 9 meant the score might have been even better. Honorable mentions go to Robert Gilchrist (nett 67) with the highlights of the round birdies at 5/11. In 4th spot was Pat Dodds (nett 66) and the highlight of his round was a birdie at hole 14. The fight for the podium places was tight and in 3rd place this week was Alan Muir who made double bogey at 2 with further bogeys at 4/6/9 meaning he was nett 1 under par at halfway. A steady inward half was punctuated by bogeys at 10/12/15/17 as Alan came home in nett 2 under par for his nett 65 (3 under par) overall. This week's runner-up was John Brodie who made a dreadful start with a triple bogey 6 at the first following 2 skirmishes with the trees to the right of the fairway. A bogey at 4 was cancelled by birdie at 7 but a double bogey at 8 following a poor chip shot and heavy handed putting meant an outward half of nett level par. The inward half was pretty consistent with the only blemishes bogeys at 13/15/17 as the back 9 was completed in nett 3 under par for nett 65 overall and pipping Alan on countback. Our winner this week was Ian Young who dropped 4 shots in his opening 4 holes then bounced back with 4 successive pars. A bogey at 9 meant an outward half of nett 2 under par but 4 successive bogeys at the start of the inward nine might have dented the confidence. However composure was restored with pars on holes 14-17 although a bogey at the last meant Ian was nett 2 under par coming home, nett 64 (4 under par) and gave him a one stroke victory. With no two's scored in this week's event the prize pot will be carried over to next week's August Medal event.

  • The Chase Golf Club V Ayr Carrick Golf Club match results.

  • The match between the Chase and Ayr Carrick golf clubs took place this afternoon over Belleisle golf course. With the format of 4 ball better ball doubles matches, each team should have contained 12 players per side with the Challenge Trophy up for grabs, and Ayr Carrick the defending champions. The match had an unfortunate start when 2 late call offs from the Chase team meant the defending Champions were a point ahead before a tee shot was hit in anger with a win for David Paterson and Gary Craig in a rescheduled match 5. The Chase hit back immediately by winning the opening match as Captain Tony Bloor and Robert Greenwood defeated Lex Galloway and Hugh Reid by 4&3. Match 2 between John Kelly and Andy McIntyre for the Chase and Tam Main and Craig Anderson for Ayr Carrick went to the 18th green where a par 5 was enough for Ayr Carrick to win the hole and secure a half point for the defending Champions. The third tie was another tight affair where Gordon Christie and David Edgar for the Chase took on Harry Campbell and Alistair Vallance with this match also finishing on the 18th green. This time however it was the Chase who triumphed via a 1hole scoreline to move ahead in the overall match by 2.5 to 1.5. The defending Champions hit back when Iain Rillie and Charlie Hamilton defeated Robert Gilchrist and Stan Smith by 6&4 so with 1 match to complete the scores were level again. The final match was a tight affair through the opening 9 holes but wins at holes 10/12/13 gave the Chase team of Ian Speirs and John Brodie a commanding lead against Colin Manson and Chris Brown. When Colin Manson fired his tee shot at 14 into 8ft it looked like Ayr Carrick would be back in the match but when the birdie effort was missed and Brodie holed from 7ft for the half, the Chase were still 3up with 4 to play. Another 8ft putt for par by Brodie was sufficient to win hole 15 and the game by 4&3 and with it overall match victory by 3.5 matches to 2.5. Captain Tony Bloor collected the Trophy at the presentation in the Balgarth Pines as the Chase won for the first time since 2014. Following the presentation both sides partook of a buffet feast and the Chase Golf Club would like to thank the staff of the Balgarth Pines for their hospitality and of course the members of Ayr Carrick Golf Club who took part in the match. We look forward to doing it all again next season when the Chase shall be the host club.

  • August Medal draw.

  • The August medal takes place on August 10/12/13/14 over our home course at Seafield and the draw is as follows: Wednesday - no games; Friday game 1 is J Bryden, G Christie, E Borland; game 2 is J Burnett, J Boyle, S Smith, I Young; Saturday game 1 is D Beattie, R McCubbin, M Mancini; game 2 is S Cairns, T Bloor, D Edgar; game 3 is S Kirk, A Smeeton, S Little; Sunday game 1 is H Mackie, W Rae, I Speirs; game 2 with a late tee time is J Cathcart, I Gray, R Gilchrist, J Brodie. The reserve list is open on all 4 days for those playing competitive golf. Good luck to everyone.

  • Match Play events.

  • Members are reminded that all players are responsible for arranging match play ties and there is no challenger system. We are now in the busiest part of the season with all match play events in full swing. Please ensure you arrange your games in a timely manner and not at the last minute. Extensions will only be granted in exceptional circumstances by Alan Smeeton. Thank you for your co-operation in this matter and good luck to everyone left in these events.

  • Electronic score returns

  • Please refer to the email instruction sent out on 10/08/20. If members require further assistance in this matter they should contact Alan Smeeton as per the guidance attached to the email.

  • Amendment to procedure

  • Following 2 incidents where a member was left without a game, the following procedure must now be followed by all players who pull out of a game after the draw has been made. It is now a requirement that the player pulling out contacts EVERYONE PLAYING IN THE GROUP to inform them. This should happen as a common courtesy but clearly has not been.

  • Office Bearers Season 2020/2021
  • Captain Tony Bloor Vice Captain John Simpson
    Secretary/Treasurer John Brodie Handicap Secretary Alan Smeeton
    Committee Roy McCubbin Committee Robert Gilchrist
    Committee Dougie Beattie Committee Scott Kirk
    Committee John Kelly